18
Aug
10

#218 – “Ramp Up Going Down”



I always wanted Edwin VanCleef to be a one-on-one encounter – I wanted it to be very close and personal, even before it fell to Hani Foonmall to go up against him. As a result, I found myself having to figure out just how to keep the rest of the group out of most of the fight. Eventually, I simply settled for keeping it about how Hani’s the only one able to keep up with him, movement-wise.

And yes, it’s a little early; going to be busy tomorrow, so I figured since I have it made in advance, I’d rather make sure it got up than risk it getting missed or delayed in the shuffle.


25 Responses to “#218 – “Ramp Up Going Down””


  1. 1 LolDrood
    August 18, 2010 at 21:16

    He won’t be so cocky when Areen and Tiny figures out how to engineer up some double-jump boots!

    I love the lighting in panels 4 and 5. :)

    Hani would hate to have to fight Inigo Montoya. :/

  2. 3 Jimbo
    August 18, 2010 at 21:17

    Nice page, love the way VanCleef keeps on talking and Hani keeps on telling him to shut up.
    Btw, the small hammer or gun looking thing that you could see before is gone… Whas this some sort of container for the blinding powder? Thanks for a great comic

  3. 4 Eduvudd
    August 19, 2010 at 00:01

    If you look closely at the last panel, on his belt its still there, and now that hes turned around, it looks more like a pistol. Sneeky.

    You’ve made the Deadmines more epic than ever :D Amazeing work!

    • 5 Jimbo
      August 20, 2010 at 01:38

      Acctualy opened the picture and zoomed in. Now that you mention it… It does look like a pistol. Be Hani’s going the disarm him and kinda jump over him. And VanCleef pulls out the pistol and… Finsih the rest ;)

      Indeed Sneeky. Love it

  4. 6 Landusk
    August 19, 2010 at 07:00

    Guessing Hain not in for big talk with the bad guy ah well we have to keep watch to see what happens

  5. 7 Bancduese
    August 19, 2010 at 08:02

    I almost do believe Van Cleef has managed to irritate Hani, even to the point of doing him some violent physical harm. Won’t say she has blood in her eyes (it was obviously some blinding powder or some similar irritant, ahem) but she is sure getting a mite unhappy with his blathering on and on and on and on and on…

  6. 8 Amaionna
    August 19, 2010 at 09:37

    Angry Hani is angry. O_O’ I do -NOT- want to be in VanCleef shoes.

  7. 11 Gordrake Thunderhoof
    August 19, 2010 at 11:38

    I like how VanCleef is still utterly delusional in thinking he’s the good guy in this scenario. He has fair points about the Nobles, but poor him…he doesn’t realise this isn’t about the Nobles at all – this is about him threatening to put an end to them, which Hani has taken not too kindly to. And now she’s pissed off Hani.

    You thought Hani was scary when she was grinning? Just wait…she’s going to skewer his throat then roast him on an open fire…all with a chianti on the side.

    • 12 Gordrake Thunderhoof
      August 19, 2010 at 11:39

      “she’s a pissed off Hani.” /faceplant

    • 13 Ilyara
      August 19, 2010 at 12:15

      Well, as far as Van Cleef is concerned he is talk about the Nobles…but where Hani is concerned, it seems to me, he is talking about Tyrande. And she did punch the Arch Druid in the face last time ^_^ ‘

  8. August 19, 2010 at 13:22

    Edwin knows how to get under Hani’ skin for sure.
    I do understand his 1 on 1 duel style and how you can use every aviable weapon to you during said duel.

    Twisted swordsmenship honour, gotta love it.

  9. 15 Timber Wolf
    August 19, 2010 at 16:33

    Hani: I’m fine.

    She’s not fine. She’s pissed. VC, you just made a big mistake.

    • August 19, 2010 at 20:44

      Hani’s art….is death, and she is going to paint her masterpiece.

    • 17 Aux-Ash
      August 20, 2010 at 14:09

      Hmmm… the impression I’ve got is that one of Hani’s great weaknesses is her temper. That most of her misfortune can be traced back to her losing her temper. That by becoming angry she’s in fact putting herself in greater danger than before.

      Remember that normally in fights, she’s not letting her emotions control her actions. The only real case where we’ve seen that before is when she punched the archdruid, and that cost her. I’m inclined to believe that this will be yet another of those cases where Hani will suffer for losing her temper. I think Van Cleef is going to hurt her, or worse: hurt Telen, Tiny or Areen.

      I’m looking forward to see how it ends

  10. 21 Nirene Feathersong
    August 19, 2010 at 22:34

    This is and will probably be the most vicious fight in the history of BtT.

    And that page title reminded me what one of my guild officer’s always shouting in teamspeak during raids when he wants us to increase our dps: Ramp it!

  11. 23 Noriam
    August 19, 2010 at 23:33

    Anger clouds one’s judgement and makes you clumsy.

    Still all to play for.

  12. 24 Meagan
    August 20, 2010 at 01:24

    First time commenting here… I have to say that you’ve really drawn me into your story so well. I always love finding characters that I become concerned or curious about, and Hani’s quickly cementing her way into both categories. Not to mention the very unique and highly expressive imagery! Please keep up the excellent work, you have a loyal fan here!

  13. 25 Árcfélonas
    August 21, 2010 at 01:13

    I remember now what this fight with VanCleef reminds me off the damn end boss actually the boss throughout Mass Effect 2. That moron was constantly annoying me with his wretched monologuing and I hated it when I got close to killing him on harder modes because I would have to keep listening to him saying the same boring threats.

    Awesome job as always and it made me laugh. I know how annoyed Hani must be feeling with him not just shutting it and fighting like a man. But it makes great reading and hey we all need a boss who annoys us just for the hell of it!

    Great work as always.


Leave a comment


Share


Bookmark and Share

Essential box of legalities

Beyond the Tree is based on (when not directly using) the art resources and story setting of World of Warcraft by Blizzard Entertainment.

That and all related and/or registered trademarks are the property of Blizzard Entertainment and Beyond the Tree claims no ownership of these or any affiliation with Blizzard Entertainment but hopes they'll have a sense of humour and appreciate it all the same ;)